PodBytes – Episode 2: RPGs From A-Z

In our second Bits ‘n’ Bytes Podcast, we bring you a conversation about role-playing games (RPGs). Love ’em or hate ’em, RPGs have found their way into almost every game you’ll play these days. Declan Burrowes, Joe Walker, Pascal Tekaia and Armand Kossayan discuss the meaning of role-playing games, their experiences with the genre, the differences between Western and Japanese RPGs, and what the future has in store.

Listen in, and then let us know your thoughts.

You can also download the podcast here.


Comments
8 Responses to “PodBytes – Episode 2: RPGs From A-Z”
  1. Joe Walker says:

    I CAN’T BELIEVE I FORGOT TO MENTION EARTHBOUND AND MOTHER 3. Hands down two of the best RPGs ever made!

  2. Chad M. says:

    Well I know I could have provided expertise on the tabletop RPG discussion…Curse this cold!

  3. Travis says:

    Speaking of first rpgs. Mine was Questron for the c64 God I’m Old.

    • Armand K. says:

      I had to look that up just to see what it was. Though I had a C64, I was only 3 years old, and was still struggling with Pong at the time.

      • Travis says:

        🙂 Hazy memories but I think I was around 12 or 13 at the time I got my c64 for Christmas with the money I saved up all year i was able to by the disk drive and two games with it. Zork 1 and Questron man I spent hours on those two. i still have them though I doubt they work even if I still had a c64 to play them on.

  4. Gregg B says:

    Great podcast everyone, wanted to chime in too many times! I’m Gregg The Morrowind Virgin by the way that Armand mentioned. I haven’t played nearly enough RPGs as I ought to. I’ve missed so many of the biggies, Baldur’s Gate, Icewind Dale, Neverwinter Nights (played this and drifted away from it), KOTOR, Mass Effect, Dragon Age, The Witcher, MORROWIND, Oblivion and that’s just the western RPGs.

    I’ve played Planescape: Torment and, I know this will sound ker-azy from somebody who hasn’t played that many RPGs, but I’d be hard pushed to believe that there’s an RPG out there that comes close to the quality of its writing and story. One thing that really ticks me off with most RPGs is the clichéd ‘save the world’ storyline and I think it’s that that made me fall hopelessly in love with Torment. Despite the entire story being founded on a tired cliche (the amnesiac protagonist) many of its ideas were a direct reaction to traditional RPG tropes — no dragons, swords, elves and goblins, no saving the world or damsels in distress, no real good or evil. It had the same effect on me at 24 years old as Final Fantasy VII did when I was 14.

    Generally speaking I don’t gel so well with JRPGs though, they seem a bit too twee and saccharine for me. Having said this, perhaps the first RPG I got truly swept up by was FFVII (and YES! dedicated podcast please! I’ll join in! 😉 It was incredible. I’d never thought about Cloud’s mistaken identity though in FFVII, that’s a very neat idea looking back and I fondly remember the part of the game where he slowly discovers it (and his ensuing transformation)! I’m not sure what I’d think of FFVII if I played it now but at the time it was mesmerising.

    I went on to play and finish FFVIII (which was pretty special at the time too) and after borrowing IX started it but never got very far before my friend requested it back. About three years ago I played Final Fantasy VI for the first time on my DS and in truth I think I missed the train. I just couldn’t really get into it. I finished it in the end and believe that the fantastic final ‘cinematic’ was what inspired the direction of FFVII (and the entire Final Fantasy series afterwards). It was sweeping and epic and just like the game itself I can only imagine how incredible it was back in its day. FFVI has made me a little wary of playing Chrono Trigger though because that too might be wasted on me.

    I think the only other RPGs I’ve finished have been System Shock 2 (one of my all time favourites) and Vampire The Masquerade: Bloodlines.

    Anyway, thanks for this guys, great stuff!

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright © 2010-2011 Bits 'n' Bytes Gaming
  • All rights reserved. Reproduction of content permitted only with Editor-in-Chief's consent.
