Don’t Like Sequels? Shut Up and Let the Rest of Us Have Fun

I Don’t Care About Your Sequelitis. 

Everyone has been talking about how they hate sequels lately, but I think sequels not only aren’t a bad thing, but have greatly improved over the years across the board. Now, the Bioshock 2 downgrade isn’t as prevalent as the God of War 3 or Uncharted 2 upgrade. Sequels are getting better, and make no mistake: sequels are a good thing.

Take Dead Space for example: I loved Dead Space, but it wasn’t without its share of frustrations and problems. During a lot of the game, I would be walking around aimlessly, with absolutely no idea where I was or what I was supposed to be doing. Thank God they included the ‘locator’, otherwise I would be completely confused trying to find my way around the ship. Not to mention that the game dragged on forever. Trying to get off the ship, failing, and guessing a new way to fail later seemed like the whole second half of the game. It seems like they tried to make it to normal game-length standards, and as a consequence it felt like it dragged on way too much.

Dead Space 2, however, was a magnificently well-crafted game. You visit a whole range of different locations, and even when you ultimately end up back on the Ishimura, it has taken on a drastically new (and unnerving) change. While people complained about the shorter overall length of the game, I preferred the shorter length because Dead Space 2 never felt stale. It was there just long enough to stay good, and left when its time was up. Even multiplayer was added for people who needed more time playing it.

But what about Portal 2? A lot of people didn’t think that Portal needed a full-blown sequel, and I vehemently disagree: it absolutely needed and deserved a sequel. While you can argue that the back-story is “better left a mystery”, I think that exploring the back-story specifically of GLaDOS didn’t change her present character into an undesirable one; it honestly just made her more fun. Actually, the whole of GLaDOS in the sequel, from her tired, almost dreary tone in the beginning, to her “I’m in a damn potato!” lines towards the end made her a better, more interesting, and more fun character, and something we wouldn’t be able to have if not for the sequel. Portal was an amazing game. Portal 2 was a magnificent one.

Mass Effect 2. Uncharted 2. Sly 2 & 3. Pretty much every Ratchet and Clank game ever. LittleBigPlanet 2, Metal Gear Solid 4. Whichever Final Fantasy you like most. All of these are great sequels. Just because it’s based off of something you’ve seen before doesn’t mean it won’t be a good or great game. Not every sequel is as good as the ones I’ve mentioned here, but think where we would be if we didn’t have even just these games. Sequels are not only here to stay, but a lot of times they provide us with a chance to make a decent game better, or a chance to make a great game even better than that.

And screw you if you don’t like sequels just based on them being sequels. Personally, I can’t wait for Saints Row: The Third.


Comments
9 Responses to “Don’t Like Sequels? Shut Up and Let the Rest of Us Have Fun”
  1. Chad M. says:

    I don’t get all the BioShock 2 hate. I thought it was a better game than the original. Because it was more its own game and not System Shock 2 UNDER THE SEA.

    • Sebastian Force says:

      You Chad have had the fortune to have played System Shock 2, while I haven’t, and most people that like Bioshock probably haven’t played (or heard of) System Shock 2. I don’t hate it, I mean it was okay, I was just really, really disappointed by it.

    • Armand K. says:

      Chad, you’re a healthy reminder for me that there is indeed an audience for games like Bioshock 2. Thanks!

      • Chad M. says:

        Honestly, I received it as a gift and had no real expectations. I ended up enjoying it. Especially those long walks on the ocean floor.

  2. While I agree that most people tend to shoot down sequels on principle, perhaps comparing the likes of Dead Space to Mass Effect isn’t the right thing to do. Whereas the former wasn’t necessarily in line for a sequel and could have ended perfectly well as a standalone sci-fi survival-horror game, Mass Effect was always intended as the first in a trilogy, and its story left it very much open to its successors. I can understand why fans might bemoan a non-obvious sequel particularly when its predecessor is a financial success; it’s all too easy for devs to get stricken by cash-cow syndrome and pump out more of the same, while not advancing anything substantial.

    • I don’t have a problem with sequels; a game I enjoy will be welcomed in sequel form, if done well, as there’s a good chance I’ll enjoy that too. Of course, if I never got into ANY of the games in a series (ahem, CoD & Co), then the flow of sequels does annoy, but only because it’s more of the same uninteresting thing to me.

      Dec, your comment about fans bemoaning a non-obvious sequel sparked a mental image for me…I don’t wanna give it away…but suffice it to say it’s a movie series…what’s its name? You know the one with the cars and the guys…Quick & Angry?…Speedy & Outraged?…well, anyway, THAT one!

      BTW, is it really fair to call the games in the Final Fantasy line “sequels”? There are very few actual sequels made, and the numbered games often don’t share any similarities from a technical or gameplay standpoint (other than the genre).

  3. Allen says:

    Sequels are fine. Its those cashcow rehashes like COD post-MF or Madden, or Guitar Hero. I remember 2 years ago…”17″ guitarhero games were released. That my friend…is called oversaturation.

    • Gil says:

      I agree with Allen. Sequels are perfectly fine as long as they improve upon an already great formula. I don’t agree with the cashcow rehashes. I still personally think 3 is the magic number though. Anything more than that and you need to just move on. Notable exception was RE4. Then again that was pretty much an entirely new game. It could have had an entirely different title and no one would be the wiser.

      Not quite the same but on a similar note, updated remakes like Resident evil on the Game Cube are doubly awesome. It allows younger crowds to experience quality games with updated mechanics and visuals.

      Remakes of remakes make me a little bit sick though.

      • Sebastian Force says:

        I absolutely agree. There doesn’t need to be a Call of Duty game every year, or Madden, or Guitar Hero. Oversaturation was rampant.

        But the thing is, what if some of the games that released sequels every year were good? Would they be taken better? I think an update every two years is good enough, personally. I don’t want to see an Uncharted or Left 4 Dead every year, but every two years? Would that still be oversaturation?

Leave a Reply

  • Copyright © 2010-2011 Bits 'n' Bytes Gaming
  • All rights reserved. Reproduction of content permitted only with Editor-in-Chief's consent.
